EYFS Curriculum

At Pownall Hall School we follow the EYFS Curriculum, which sets out expected developmental milestones across seven areas of learning and development.

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

At Pownall, we go beyond the curriculum, providing the very best start for our pupils. Children in our Woodland Nursery and Reception classes enjoy weekly Forest School classes, yoga, music and P.E. all with specialist subject teachers.

The Power of Play

“Scientists have recently determined that it takes approximately 400 repetitions to create a new synapse in the brain – unless it is done with PLAY , in which case, it takes between 10-20 repetitions.”

– Dr Karryn Purvis

Play based learning is essential for younger children; it engages their imagination, creativity and team building skills, which, in turn develops their social and emotional skills and language development.

In the Woodland Nursery, we plan in the moment so that teaching takes place as the children play. We extend the children’s play by asking questions such as “How many dinosaurs do you have?” We share our understanding of the world with them as they play by saying, “I love your aeroplane, can you see its propeller? It needs this to be able to stay in the air.”

By harnessing what the children are interested in, it keeps them engaged and eager to learn more. This style of teaching creates the building blocks for a life long love of learning and discovery.

Our Curriculum